Laundry Detergent

Standard

20131014-140139.jpg

Ok so this is probably one of my most commonly asked questions: How do you make your laundry detergent?

I’ve tried several recipes from Pinterest, and this is kind of a combination of several of those. Now I should tell you that I never tried making any liquid detergent and I know some moms that love theirs, however, I just didn’t want to put that much effort into it lol. I like that this is super quick and easy. You just combine ingredients, no stirring or cooking anything. Lazy? Maybe, but hey it works!

There were a few things that I was looking for in my laundry detergent.

1-Natural- I wanted it be as natural as possible. Most people use Fels-Naptha or Ivory soaps, but I am a HUGE fan of Dr. Bronner’s soaps. Plus, Dr. Bronner’s is organic and vegan (not that I am vegan, but you might be) I use the bar version for the actual recipe, and if it’s a particularly dirty load, I may add about 1/2 tsp of liquid Bronner’s directly to the load. (I have a top loader)

2- Cheap- Have you seen the prices on natural detergents?! My goodness! I mean, yes it is worth it for your health and the impact on the environment etc, but $14.00 a bottle? I went through that in one month! With this, I spent about $28 when I first bought everything….over a year ago! Since then, I’ve probably bought about 2 more bars of soap. So about $32.00 a year in all natural laundry detergent vs. $168. That’s $136.00 in savings per year!

3- Work- I mean, really, what’s the point in making something that doesn’t work? I tried some things that left a white film in our clothes, some that left them smelling musty and some that just plain did not work. This recipe WORKS! It cleans without any residue or anything. It doesn’t generally leave a scent at all, but if you want a scent add some essential oils;)

4- Easy- Like I said earlier, I didn’t want to have to cook anything or stir for an hour trying to mix things up. For me, it’s just not a problem to add a little of each thing to the washer each time, however, I did recycle a little shaker bottle and add it all in there so if my husband or daughter are doing some laundry it’s easier for them. (Yes, my seven year old is helping out with the laundry…it was her choice, and I think its awesome)

So, if you think you may be interested in trying it out, here it is!

-1 bar of fine grated Dr. Bronner’s soap (any scent really, it doesn’t scent your clothes. However, you could use Tea Tree if you’re fighting any fungus or anything)
-1 cup Washing Soda (not baking soda…it’s found in the laundry isle)
-1 cup Borax

The following things are optional:
-Purex Crystals- they say they’re “natural”. I have no idea if they actually are since most fragrance, cosmetic, and food industries can basically say whatever they want as long as they don’t say its organic. But, if you’re really in this more for the cheap aspect of it, with the added benefit of it being natural then hey the stuff smells good:) Plus, it’s bottle will work great for your shaker;)

-Essential Oils- sticking with the scent theme here. You can used whatever smells good to you. Tea tree will fight fungus (thinking if you have kids, you’ve probably dealt with ringworm at some point). Lavender is calming, Citrus is invigorating, etc. So what I’m saying is you can even customize your laundry to what you need for your mood! Wash you pajamas in lavender, and your work clothes in sweet orange! Win!

For each wash, just sprinkle about a tablespoon (or more, whatever lol) of each of the soap, washing soda and borax into your machine. Add in your essential oils and turn the machine on! That’s it!

It works on cloth diapers really well too!
It works great for top loaders and front loaders with no problems.
We’ve never had any issues with our sensitive skin even when using the scented Bronner’s and essential oils, but you could easily skip out on the essential oils all together and use the Bronner’s unscented bar to be sure;)

I hope you try it. I just know you’ll love it! Let me know what you think!

20131014-140336.jpg

Leave a Reply

